CHOCOLATE FUDGE BROWNIE THINS: “OMG, I can eat this?” series

OMG, I can eat this? aims to reconstruct your favorite No Go meals and turn them into delights you can chow down on without feeling terribly afterward.

JUMP TO THE RECIPE

With Valentines Day within spitting distance, I thought I’d share some healthy versions of treats that you can make your SO, your friends or just for you!

Sweets aren’t really my thing. I mean, I’m happy to eat them if you put them in front of me, but I don’t go out of my way to get one. I don’t think I have ever bought myself a chocolate bar, for instance. That being said, I do like to bake and make sweets for other people.

With me not having a sweet tooth, I also don’t like my desserts to be overwhelmingly sugary. As you’ve probably read, I also avoid adding sugar in any processed form to anything that I cook. How to get away with this and not have everything taste like chemical sweeteners? Use naturally sweet whole foods.

I’ve adapted the recipe on Jay’s Baking Me Crazy to reduce the sugar content and achieve it through a less refined source. I still believe a syrup like honey is great, but I like my sugars even less refined, where possible.

This recipe employs hydrated and blitzed dates to add a layer of subtle sweetness to the bitter dark notes of the chocolate. It also uses just egg yolk to bring a little more decadence to the chocolate.

These also happen to be gluten free, dairy free and nut free.

A warning: this is only slightly sweet. Add more dates if you want more sweetness but then, is you end up using more liquid, add a tiny bit more coconut flour.

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERAOLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

Chocolate Fudge Brownie Thins

Prep time: 10 minutes

Cooking time: 22 minutes

Makes 5 servings

Ingredients

  • 1/2 cup of melted coconut oil
  • 1/2 cup of cocoa powder
  • 2oz of unsweetened chocolate
  • 4 dates, covered in boiling water
  • 3 egg yolks
  • 1 teaspoon vanilla
  • 1/4 cup of coconut flour
  • 1/8 teaspoon of baking soda
  • 1/2 teaspoon of salt

Method (and a touch of madness)

  • Preheat oven to 350F/175C.
  • Line a baking dish with parchment paper.
  • In a food processor or blender, add dates and 1 tablespoon of the steeping liquid then blend until smooth paste forms. You might be to add more of the liquid depending on your blender.
  • Heat the coconut oil and cocoa powder in small saucepan. Once warmed, add the chocolate and continue to stir until melted.
  • Add date paste, egg yolks and vanilla. Mix until well combined.
  • Add coconut flour, baking soda and salt. The mixture will become very dense very quickly.
  • Turn out into the baking dish and spread into a thin layer about 1/2 inch thick.
  • Bake for 22 mins then allow to cool in hot oven.

 Guide for the ‘arians:

  • Flexitarian – good
  • Pescetarian – good
  • Vegetarian – good
  • Omnivore – good
  • Vegan – substitute tablespoon of flax seed meal and 3 tablespoons of hot water for each egg
  • Gluten free – good
  • Lactose free – good

Betcha never thought you’d see brownies on this blog!

One thought on “CHOCOLATE FUDGE BROWNIE THINS: “OMG, I can eat this?” series

Leave a Reply

