Mug Cakes: The Office Kitchen

The Office Kitchen is a new series documenting some of the snacks that I make in the office to keep my body going. I like to keep things interesting and find ways to hack together some favorite snacks and meals using the few utensils and appliances available to me.

I love me a good snack. I eat maybe 6-7 times a day. Sometimes, this is far too much and I need to curb the amounts that I eat. I’m going to be honest here because the struggle is actually real: sometimes, I just feel like stuffing my face.

My method of curbing my enthusiasm is to create snacks that balance the protein to carb ratio, usually incorporating an egg to give me my fats and protein and a whole grain carbohydrate to refuel and provide my muscles with the fuel they need to recover.

The fastest way that I could think to get that combination into my system was boiled eggs or yogurt and fruit – a great, tasty way to snack. Every now and then, though, I feel like being more creative.

For this series, I’ll list out the equipment that I use so that you can determine whether it’s a feasible solution for your office/work environment.

Sometimes, all we have is a microwave. That is no excuse! Ask anyone with a sense of smell in my office whether the microwave can make a delicious snack. They’ll confirm it for you. I’ve been “voted off the island” for generating mouth-watering smells from the microwave at 3pm many times. Sorry, guys. I need to eat!

This recipe is a tried and true way to get an egg into your arvo (Australian for afternoon) but not have to eat… an egg, y’know?

It’ll give you some good whole carbs and a serve of fruit for their vitamin and micronutrient content and, really, it just tastes damn good.

The simplicity is in the one-vessel prep and cook. This is really as easy as it gets and you’ll be the envy of the whole office while filling you up with something incredibly satisfying yet healthful.

Actual office prep pics below mixed in with a prettier home version:


The equipment

  • Microwave
  • Mug (2, if you want to get fancy)
  • Spoon

The ingredients

  • 3 tablespoons of oat flour (you can use any flour you bring from home, I happen to have a big tub of oats and a mini blender in my drawer at work that makes oat “flour” for me)
  • 1 egg
  • 1 teaspoon of baking powder
  • Pinch of salt
  • 1 heaped tablespoon of whatever fruit you like
  • 1 teaspoon of cinnamon or whatever spice goes well with your choice of fruit
  • Pinch of stevia or whatever sweetener you like.
  • Small splash of water or milk alternative to loosen into a batter

The method

  • Mix all ingredients in a mug.
  • Nuke for up to 2 mins.
  • Eat.
  • Optional fancy step: add fruit and cinnamon/spice to the first mug and nuke for 1 min. Mix the rest of the ingredients in a different mug then carefully spoon into the first mug. Nuke for 2 minutes et voila, instant upside down cake!

img_1883.jpg

3 thoughts on “Mug Cakes: The Office Kitchen

Leave a Reply

